Welcome to 

Southern Five Regional Planning District 

and Development Commission

Serving the southernmost Illinois counties of Alexander, Johnson, Massac, Pulaski and Union

| Home | Services | Communities | Counties | Newsletter| Feedback |Search
Click on county name on  map 


Southern Five Regional Planning District and Development Commission was authorized by Illinois legislation in 1976. Resolutions of adoption from each of the five counties determined that Southern Five would coordinate local economic and community development. Southern Five is funded, in part, by the U. S. Department of Commerce's Economic Development Administration (EDA). We are a federally designated Economic Development District (EDD). The agency administers In-House and Local Revolving Loan Funds (RLFs) and prepares Community Development Assistance Program (CDAP) grants for public facilities and housing rehabilitation. Southern Five works closely with USDA Rural Development and the Department of Natural Resources, provides technical assistance to local governments on matters pertaining to land development, and has an in-house GIS lab able to produce maps of the region. Southern Five is also a Center for Regional Statistics and provides assistance to member communities with special projects.

Copyright 2002 SFRPC . All rights reserved.

Last Updated: April 26, 2002